Hit and Run Lawyer Fairfax Virginia
Virginia law requires that the driver of a vehicle involved in an accident in which a person is injured or in which an attended vehicle or other attended property is damaged to stop and report his name, address, driver’s license number, and vehicle registration number. A violation is considered a class 5 felony punishable by 1 to 10 years in jail and/or a fine of $2500 if the accident involves an injury or property damage in excess of $1000. If the property damage is $1000 or less it is considered a class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to 12 months in jail and/or a $2500 fine.
Failure to stop at the scene of an accident involving property damage of $1000 or less carries 4 points and stays on your record for 3 years. Failure to stop at the scene of an accident involving injury or property damage in excess of $1000 carries 6 points and stays on your record for 11 years.
If the accident involved property damage in excess of $500 the driver’s license can also be suspended for up to 6 months.
If the property or vehicle damaged is unattended, the driver has the duty to make a reasonable effort to locate the owner and report the information directly or leave a note if the owner cannot be found.
Additionally, if a driver fails to report the required information and there is a passenger in the vehicle over the age of 16, that passenger has a duty to report the accident to the state police within 24 hours. If the accident resulted in injury the passenger can be guilty of a class 6 felony. If the accident resulted in only property damage the passenger can be guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor.