Reckless Driving Lawyer Fairfax Virginia
In Virginia, you can be charged with reckless driving for many different reasons. Most reckless driving cases are due to speed. If you are going more than 20 miles per hour over the speed limit, or in excess of 80 miles per hour regardless of the speed limit, you can be charged with reckless driving.
Similarly, police can charge you with reckless driving if they determine that you have caused an accident or that your driving “endangered the life, limb or property of any person” even without causing an accident. Some less common reckless driving offenses include:
Passing on or at the crest of a grade or on a curve
Driving with driver's view obstructed or control impaired
Passing two vehicles abreast
Driving two abreast in a single lane
Passing at a railroad grade crossing
Passing a stopped school bus
Failing to give proper signals
Driving too fast for highway and traffic conditions
Failure to yield right-of-way.
Reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor (same class as a DWI) punishable by up to 12 months in jail and/or a $2,500.00 fine. It also carries 6 points on your license. Depending upon the circumstances of the particular case, the client’s previous driving history, and other factors, our office is often able to negotiate with the prosecutor assigned to the case to have a reckless driving charge reduced to a lesser charge such as speeding, improper driving, or defective equipment. Some counties allow defendants to take a driver improvement course in order to have the charge reduced or dismissed.
It is important to hire an experienced attorney who regularly handles reckless driving cases in the jurisdiction where your case is being heard in order to get the best possible result based on the facts and circumstances of your particular case. Please refer to our case results page in order to see some of the dispositions we have been able to achieve for previous clients charged with reckless driving.